top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAIFD Southern Chapter

My journey to the Interflora World Cup


Competing in the World Cup was a very big honor for me. My journey to get there was worth every step. From a young age, my family owned a beautiful nursery grower with many different plants and flowers, and this allowed me to understand the flower world. Eventually, I would learn from one of my cousins who is a florist, and this would ignite the passion I have for the flower world. At the age of seven, with the help of my cousin, I was able to work on my first bridal bouquet. Ultimately, after many years of studying and working, I was able to set up my floral event decor business in the year 2000 in Caracas, Venezuela. I was able to meet amazing people and learn very good things from my time in Venezuela, but eventually in 2013 I decided to look for better opportunities for me and my family here in the United States and established my event decor business in Florida.

In my search to surpass who I was and become a better professional, I stumbled across AIFD, and eventually went to my first symposium in Las Vegas in 2013, took my first PFDE, and obtained my CFD. This is when I understood that talent is not enough, and it must be paired with knowledge; and I started my journey with self-paced courses and involving myself in many floral organizations around the United States. Additionally, this allowed me to compete in a vast number of floral competitions, where I was able to meet and compete against many talented florists. In the year 2017, I attended Floriology Institute to take the course for certification of competition, and retested with AIFD that same year and became an accredited member. I also completed my first level of the European Master Certification course. Eventually, I was able to compete in important cups, such as the Sylvia Cup; and due to the experience and learning, I was able to start winning and placing high in the competitions I would attend.

The journey began with placing third on the podium for FSFA Designer of the Year, which only made me want to surpass myself, and eventually placed second in 2019. In 2019, I decided to embark on a journey to be able to win Designer of the Year the following year, and started with the Fern Trust cup and Teleflora Sunshine cup, where I took first place and second place in the Sylvia cup. Eventually in 2020 I won FSFA designer of the Year, and began prepping for the following year where I was able to be involved with many important projects such as Florology NOW, an educational platform, where I am part of the team of instructors. In 2022, I was invited to represent Venezuela in the Gateway to the America's cup, this being my second time, the first time in 2018. Thanks to the vast number of competitions and high level of talent faced, I have been able to start building a vision for the the Interflora World Cup.


Over the past year, since being invited to this wonderful event, I dialed down in discipline, logistics, organizations, and knowledge. Additionally, bringing in my past experiences to be able to create something unique and special for this incredible opportunity. I am very satisfied to have selected as my assistant my colleague and friend Susana Ortega AIFD, CFD, EIAF, who has experience with high level competitions, such as representing her country, Colombia, in the Gateway to the America's cup.


Reflecting upon the rigor required for this challenge I also want to thank my mentors for properly preparing me for this opportunity; and have been able to support me throughout this beautiful journey: Jackie Lacey AAF, AIFD, CFD, PFCI, Deborah De la Flor AIFD, CFD, PFCI and Gus De la Flor.


25 views0 comments
bottom of page